Iceland Mag

5 Reykjavik

Iceland Mag


Icelandic author Oddný Eir among this year's winners of the European Union Prize for Literature

By Staff

The winners of the 2014 European Union Prize for Literature were announced today at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The award recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe. Among this year’s winners is Icelandic author Oddný Eir Ævarsdóttir.

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) was launched in 2009 and is open to countries participating in the EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors. Every year winning authors are nominated by national juries in a third of the partaking countries. Each winner receives 5000 euros (6.331 US dollar) and extra promotion and international visibility.

This year’s winners are: Ben Blushi (Albania), Milen Ruskov (Bulgaria), Jan Němec (Czech Republic), Makis Tsitas (Greece), Oddný Eir (Iceland), Janis Jonevs (Latvia),Armin Öhri (Liechtenstein), Pierre J. Mejlak (Malta), Ognjen Spahić (Montenegro), Marente de Moor (The Netherlands), Uglješa Šajtinac (Serbia), Birgül Oğuz (Turkey) and Evie Wyld (United Kingdom).

Oddný Eir was born in 1972 and has written three autobiographical novels, translated and edited literary works and organised various visual arts events. 

Related content

Editor's Picks